Tags

, , , , , ,

Here comes the turnip truck!

OK. I decided to blog for several reasons two of which are: 1) because everyone else is doing it, and 2) because this may be the perfect way to get the attention of Oprah Winfrey and/or Tina Fey. Do you hear me Oprah and Tina? I am desperately reaching out to you! (Please see the lovely photo of us from my first post.)

So, I feel that I should warn you about a few things before you read any further. If you are a reader who is looking for well-written, thought-out, deep articles on important topics (or things you think are important), this is not the blog for you. Stop reading now. This blog is about as deep as the sewn up pockets on a fancy pair of trouser pants. If, however, you have the hankerin’ for an odd sort of stream of consciousness writing that focuses on nothing and everything and sometimes something specific and always on Oprah and Tina all at the same time, then this is the perfect blog for you.

I ask that anyone who has a nasty comment to share – please do keep it to yourself. I don’t want anyone spreading his or her negativity into my Universe. There is too much hate and badness going around and I’m trying to avoid all of it. Plus, I have students who may stumble across this blog (because I sent them the link and begged them to read it) and I don’t want them exposed to such crap – regardless of what they are experiencing in the real word. Anyone stepping into my world for a few minutes will be stepping into a different sort of bubble and it’s a very nice bubble full of fun and magic – a happy bubble.

I feel like I should comment on yesterday’s “tropical storm”, but I don’t really have anything to say about it. I didn’t turn on the news. I didn’t read about it on the Internet. A witch only pedaled past my office window once. So, for me nothing unusual happened. I will say this, it was very funny (because nobody was hurt) how many texts I got throughout the day from family and friends describing fallen trees in their back or front yards. And isn’t it weird how every time a tree falls in a front (or side) yard, it always seems to find a power line or two on its way down? The fallen back yard trees always end up in, or crushing, a family pool or wanna-be garden. It was also strange how the severity of the storm differed from town to town.

For example, here is how some folks spent the day in parts of Weymouth, MA:

Irena Poppins Enjoys the Summer's First Tropical Storm

And here is what was going on just one town over:

Man Forced to Swim Home During Irene

(The above images are real photographs and have not been doctored in any way.)

Truly, I hope that you all survived the weekend unscathed and are enjoying this gorgeous day.

That is all I have to say for now. For those of you (Nancy) who could only find one page of this blog on your first perusal of the site, please know that there are currently three (3) pages: the Home Page, which you can get to by clicking on the title, Under the Turnip Truck, at the top of the page, the About Page, where you will see the cutest photo of my new little nephew, Jackson…. and his gigantic flip-flops, and the Under the Turnip Truck Explained page, which will … explain … why I chose this name.  More pages may or may not be added later. Please go and read them because it will make me feel better about myself. I can tell from the “stats” section of the blog data base who isn’t going to view those pages. So GO. Please.

I wish I could think of a cool sign-off, but I can’t. And if you offer me one and I take it, know now that I’m not giving you any credit for it. Like the powers-that-be at SNL and like Shakespeare, I will just steal it from you and call it a day. Actually Shakespeare only “borrowed” from other writers and he always made it better in the end, so that made the stealing borrowing okay. Don’t you think?

So, until that cool sign-off comes along …

 I’m turning off the turnip truck.

T

